100 Model Bills, Long-Term Care, PLI in Slate and More

 

MODEL LEGISLATION

More than 100 model bills, all in one place: The Public Leadership Institute offers model legislation addressing all areas of state and local policy. If you’re looking for a bill to sponsor or promote, look here. And if you need more information, don’t hesitate to contact us at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.

IDEALOG

Dear Justice Kennedy: The Supreme Court just heard arguments on an anti-abortion Texas law, HB 2. This case is the result of a constitutional crisis, an intentional assault on our Constitution, an echo of the “massive resistance” strategy. The question is whether Justice Kennedy, the swing vote in this case, will side with his own prior ruling. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

WEBINAR OF THE WEEK

What to do as Baby Boomers retire: Wednesday, March 9 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. Every eight seconds, another baby boomer turns 65. In the coming years, millions will require some form of long-term care and support. How can state and local governments make the “Elder Boom” into a blessing instead of a curse? Register for a webinar led by a real expert, Kevin Simowitz of Caring Across Generations.

RESOURCES YOU CAN USE

Repro Rights Report: This week’s report lists more than 100 proactive pro-choice bills introduced across the states. Our Repro Rights Report includes both hyperlinks to all the introduced bills and links to our model bills.

Progress in the States and Localities Report: This highlights 20 important progressive bills that have passed at least one legislative house so far in 2016. The progressive victories in our Progress in the States and Localities Report address a wide range of policies from civil rights and consumer protection to public safety and election reform.

FROM THE PUBLIC LEADERSHIP INSTITUTE

PLI featured in Slate article about “satire” legislation: Satire, irony and sarcasm have played a role in policy debates for at least 2,500 years—since the age of Aristophanes. This article in Slate magazine features the Public Leadership Institute’s Playbook and its satirical Medical Equity Now (MEN) Act. For a printed copy of our Playbook for Abortion Rights or a bulk order for you and your colleagues, please contact Michael Weiss at mweiss@publicleadershipinstitute.org.


Download Books