Abortion Rights Strategy, Government Accounting Rule, Corporations Hoarding Cash and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group organized to raise public awareness on key issues and to develop public leaders who will improve the economic and social conditions of all Americans. To join, click here.

Women’s Right to the Pill Act: Women seeking contraception, especially emergency contraception, continue to face refusals when they go to the pharmacy. The anti-abortion movement, in some states, has become the anti-contraception movement as well. The Women’s Right to the Pill Act solves the problem by requiring all pharmacies to fill lawful contraceptive prescriptions and stock emergency contraception for purchase over-the-counter.

New Abortion Rights Strategy in States and Localities: How can the abortion rights movement rebound from recent defeats in the states? By introducing and fighting for our own proactive state and local legislation. Proactive legislation grabs public and media attention, provides a series of hard news hooks, facilitates grassroots organizing, demonstrates political strength, and widens the political battlefield. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Top Ten Model Bills for Abortion Rights: Wednesday, January 27 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. The best way to defend against anti-abortion attacks is by going on the offensive, reframing the debate with proactive legislation, and putting the right wingers in a difficult political position. Join this webinar for ten good ideas how to do it.

New government accounting rule takes effect: State and local governments will now have to disclose how much revenue they lose to corporate tax breaks given in the name of economic development. Wonky but very important—the Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement No. 77.

Why are corporations hoarding trillions in cash? New York Times columnist Adam Davidson discusses an issue that’s crucial for all policymakers: corporations are holding onto cash at an unprecedented level instead of investing it in business expansion. This stunts the economy and blocks the growth of jobs. How can governments dissuade rich companies from standing still?

A Playbook for Abortion Rights: With 27 model bills and 2 model resolutions, our new Playbook for Abortion Rights is a unique resource for state and local policymakers. Click here to read a summary of the bills or to download the whole book.


Download Books