Anti-Immigrant Bigotry, Progressive Values, Uber Licenses, and More

Abortion with Dignity Act: Many anti-abortion statutes violate one of the basic tenets of ethical medicine—informed consent. The Abortion with Dignity Act would provide a reproductive healthcare patient the right to sign a waiver to eliminate waiting periods, the requirement to hear medical misinformation, and other requirements that are contrary to the fundamental principle of informed consent.

Now more than ever, we need to give voice to our progressive values: Americans who avoid politics are far more likely to pay attention in a presidential election year. Our non-political neighbors and friends are not interested in hearing us spout a laundry list of policies—they want to understand our progressive values. To these sometime voters, it’s not a question of where we’re going, it’s a matter of why. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to support immigrants and oppose anti-immigrant bigotry: Wednesday, June 1 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. It has become clear that anti-immigrant bigotry will play a major role in the 2016 campaign. According to the latest polls, what are Americans thinking? And how can progressives persuade our fellow citizens to reject discrimination and hate? Register for the webinar here.

Should states reconsider the statute of limitations for rape? Because of the perceived shame and stigma in being sexually assaulted, and the youth of some survivors, many do not report the crime for years. The Pew Trusts published an excellent story about the debate over increasing the criminal and/or civil statutes of limitations.

San Francisco is requiring Uber and Lyft drivers to obtain business licenses: 37,000 Uber and Lyft drivers who work in the city at least seven days in the year will need business licenses to continue operations. The policy question is, should “gig economy” workers be subject to the same licensing rules as everyone else?

Progress in the States and Localities Report: Our latest highlights more than 50 important progressive bills that have passed at least one legislative house so far in 2016. The progressive victories in our Progress in the States and Localities Report address a wide range of policies from civil rights and consumer protection to public safety and election reform.


Download Books