Domestic Workers, Civil Justice, Voter ID and more


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Model Legislation from ALICE

Domestic Workers Bill of Rights: In nearly all states, child care and elder care workers and housekeepers are excluded from basic labor protections.  Here are good model bills available on ALICE from both California (statewide) and New York (city). Are you using ALICE model bills and resources? Let ALICE know: alice@alicelaw.org.

Non-verbal communication can negate what you’re trying to say: A famous study found that what you say can be easily overridden by how you say it. An audience decodes a speaker’s intent through body language and tone of voice, rather than the words, over 90 percent of the time. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Webinar of the Week

How to defend the Civil Justice system: For heaven’s sake, don’t say “tort reform.” That’s an effort to rig the system in favor of the rich. This webinar presents top national experts who will explain how the civil justice system protects all Americans and how we can defend it. Join us for this webinar Monday, April 28 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific.

Resources You Can Use

How to talk about Voter ID and proactive voting issues: Progressives try to make voting simpler and conservatives try to make it harder. On any election-related legislation, expect the right wing to cry “voter fraud.” Click here to read how progressives should respond to the right wing and push for modernized voting systems.

Polling about poverty and inequality: The Pew Research Center published some very interesting polling that tells us some of the challenges in talking about progressive economic policy. Everybody agrees there’s a problem but Independent voters are not sufficiently sold on progressive solutions.

From the Public Leadership Institute

New messaging book is hot off the presses: Be one of the first to read the brand-new Second Edition of Voicing Our Values. You can download the whole book here.