Rules of Direct Mail, Senior Scams, GPI and more


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Model_Legislation.jpg

Genuine Progress Indicator (GPI): Okay, this is a bit wonky. But states, cities and counties don’t have an accurate, comprehensive way to measure progress in their own jurisdictions. Currently, most states use gross domestic product (GDP) which is both inaccurate and biased. ALICE has resources to help you use the GPI—and 1,500 other model and exemplary bills for both state and local policymakers.

Are today’s progressives bad at message framing? Looking back, liberals of the 60s and 70s brilliantly framed federal programs as the Peace Corps, Head Start, Model Cities, Fair Housing, Equal Employment Opportunity, and the Clean Air Act. Perhaps we’ve lost an understanding of “framing.” Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Top Ten Rules of Direct Mail: Wednesday, August 27 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, noon Pacific. For most state and local policy campaigns, direct mail is the only affordable way to broadcast messages. Register here for an interactive discussion about how to write and design persuasion mail.

Fighting scams aimed at seniors: Pew has a very good article that helps lawmakers understand and battle against the many scams that are now directed at the elderly. There is a lot that can be done.

Don’t forget resources from the National Conference of State Legislators: We’re here at the NCSL Summit in Minneapolis and are constantly reminded of all the great policy materials available on the NCSL website. Check it out!

A message guide: Get the Second Edition of Voicing Our Values. Here is a free PDF of the book or you can buy a printed copy on Amazon here.