Clean Elections, Police Cameras, Health Insurance and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Clean elections: If the 2014 elections proved anything, it’s that the process for funding elections is broken. Besides getting a different Supreme Court, there is one realistic solution—public financing. The New York Clean Elections Act is a good model.

Police cameras to protect public safety: Because of DNA evidence, we know that far too many innocent people have been prosecuted and imprisoned. Because of cellphone cameras, we know there is far too much unnecessary violence. There’s a solution. Read IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Health insurance for your members or constituents: Wednesday, November 19 @2:30pm Eastern, 1:30pm Central, 12:30pm Mountain, 11:30am Pacific. The Obamacare enrollment period begins November 15! Join our next webinar where experts from Enroll America will discuss what you can say and do to help your members or constituents get health coverage under the Affordable Care Act. Register here to participate.

Help finalize our new Progressive Agenda for States and Localities: Our 2015 Progressive Agenda is now online with 50 suggested model bills on twelve different policy topics. Before we send it to the printer, we invite your suggestions, criticisms and edits. Download a PDF copy here. Send comments to leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.

Election results at the state level: NCSL has charts and maps that provide detail about what happened in the 2014 General Elections.

First draft of Progress in the States and Localities: We have a first version of one of our anchor publications, Progress in the States and Localities now online. Please send your suggestions to Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.