Education Smokescreen, Climate Change, Police Shootings and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Minimum Standards for Subsidized Jobs Act: State and local governments spend millions of dollars on economic development subsidies. This Minimum Standards for Subsidized Jobs policy model requires that subsidy recipients must meet basic standards for employee pay and benefits, and ensures that recipients aren’t law breakers.

School evaluation that’s data driven—over a cliff: Last week, the National Research Council published an Evaluation of the D.C. Public Schools. Pretty much all they did was study and report on test scores and other “data.” Focusing on such “data” creates a smokescreen that covers up the real problems in high-poverty schools. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to debate Climate Change: Wednesday, June 17 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, noon Pacific. Americans have very little understanding of climate change. As a result, giant energy companies and their allies have been able to stop the enactment of real solutions. How can we persuade our fellow citizens? Register for the webinar here.

States are spending much less on higher education: The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities calculated the change in per-student spending on higher education from the beginning of the recession (2008) to the present. Forty-seven states have cut spending, with the worst five being Arizona, Louisiana, South Carolina, Alabama and Pennsylvania. See the whole report here.

Police shootings in 2015: Police shot and killed at least 385 people during the first five months of 2015, according to an analysis by the Washington Post. During January-May 2015, police were responsible for about one of every 13 non-suicide gun deaths in America.

Latest Compendium of State and Local Legislation in 2015: What’s happened so far in 2015? Read about it in our Compendium. If you have additions to suggest, please contact mweiss@publicleadershipinstitute.org