Elizabeth Warren, Confederate Flag, Credit Checks and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Fair Employment Practices Act: State and local governments can and should prohibit the use of consumer credit checks for hiring decisions. Such a policy can apply to all employers, or where localities don’t have that power, it can apply to hiring by the government and its contractors.

The flag that offends 100 million Americans: The issue is simple, really. Symbols can express political values, and for nearly one-third of America, the Confederate battle flag symbolizes racial hatred. The state of Texas, Mitt Romney and Walmart understand that—why doesn’t everyone? Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

SPECIAL TODAY—Elizabeth Warren on affordable housing and debt-free college: TODAY, June 24 @2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, noon Mountain, 11am Pacific. Three of our partner organizations are sponsoring a conversation with Senator Warren who will explain what your local jurisdictions can do to create permanent affordable housing and support debt-free college. Register here.

Have you got your free trip to Azerbaijan yet? There is an astonishing effort by Azerbaijan to gain the friendship of American lawmakers by funding free trips to Asia. Apparently legislators from at least 33 states have made the trip—including Arizona, Arkansas, Hawaii, Indiana, Kansas, Pennsylvania, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, West Virginia and Wyoming. Members of Congress have also visited Azerbaijan for free. If you go, send us a post card!

Not many “good guys with a gun”: Across the country, state and local governments are making it legal for people to carry guns in the streets—and in parks, schools and even churches. We are told that people need guns to fight off assailants. But a new study shows that legal self-defense with a gun is rare.

If you’re going to the National Conference of State Legislatures in Seattle this August: The Public Leadership Institute will passing out copies of the Progressive Agenda and Voicing Our Values in the Exhibition Hall, booth 1205. Come visit with us!