Fair Pay Act, How to Lobby, College Funding Cuts and More

Fair Pay Act: Massachusetts just enacted SB 2119, one of the strongest equal pay laws in the country. Starting in July 2018, employers cannot engage in wage discrimination for the same or “comparable” positions, regardless of gender. That’s what our model Fair Pay Act does. Massachusetts takes it a step farther by also prohibiting employers from demanding wage histories from job applicants.

Coming soon to your state—voter harassment and intimidation: Donald Trump is actively recruiting poll watchers in a way that certainly sounds like it will lead to voter intimidation. Sadly, voter suppression is nothing new in American politics. The question is, what can we do? Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Top Ten Rules for How to Lobby and Be Lobbied: Wednesday, August 24 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. How do you create a productive relationship between grassroots lobbyists and progressive lawmakers? This workshop will explain the importance of building both knowledge and trust, and then how to deliver and receive information that can make a real difference in the legislative process. Register here to join us.

Man bites dog! Wall Street calls on states and localities to invest in infrastructure: Making the progressive argument, a Wall Street Journal article explains that now is the time for states and cities to borrow at extremely low rates to pay for infrastructure and stimulate the economy.

College is expensive because states have cut funding: A new report from the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities shows that 46 states are spending less per student enrolled in state colleges than they did before the recession of 2008. Funding in AL, AZ, ID, IL, KY, LA, NH, PA and SC is down more than 30 percent. Naturally, tuition is much higher—at least 30 percent higher in 29 states.

Progress in the States and Localities Report: Our latest highlights more than 85 important progressive bills that have passed at least one legislative house so far in 2016. The progressive victories in our Progress in the States and Localities Report address a wide range of policies from civil rights and consumer protection to public safety and election reform.


Download Books