Fast Track, Language Access, Direct Mail and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Language Access for Non-English Speakers Act: Thousands of residents cannot access public services because of their limited ability to speak or read English. SB 758, approved by the Maryland Senate, requires government agencies to make important resources available in other languages. This simple model bill accomplishes the same thing.

Three Reasons Americans are Ignorant of Basic Facts: Polling shows that average voters are ignorant of basic political facts—like who controls the U.S. House and Senate! Why are so many voters so ill informed, and what can progressives do? Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Top Ten Rules of Direct Mail: Wednesday, May 20 @3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. For most state and local policy campaigns, direct mail is the only affordable way to broadcast messages. Join this webinar to discuss: the mechanics of direct mail, the messages conveyed through direct mail, and design of the most effective direct mail.

Sign-On Against Fast Track Authority for the TPP: As Senator Elizabeth Warren explains here, the Trans-Pacific Partnership includes an “Investor-State Dispute Settlement” (ISDS) provision that would allow foreign companies to challenge U.S. law—including state and local laws—in special tribunals that are not part of the U.S. system of courts.

Toolkit addressing the use of force by police: Our friends at Center for Popular Democracy and PolicyLink have created a very useful report to help you reform the policies and practices of state and local law enforcement agencies. Click here to download Building Momentum from the Ground Up: A Toolkit for Promoting Justice in Policing.

Lots of horrible legislation at the state level, much better in cities: What’s happened so far in 2015? Read about it in our Compendium. If you have additions to suggest, please contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.