Felony Theft Reform, Myths of Persuasion, Helping the Homeless and More

Felony Threshold Reform Act: Felony theft is distinguished from misdemeanor theft by a monetary value. If the item stolen is worth more than, say $500, the crime is a felony while taking an item worth $499 is a misdemeanor. The Felony Threshold Reform Act increases the dollar threshold. A recent study finds that such reforms reduce the number of unjust felony prosecutions, save the state money, and do not affect crime rates.

How to find logical fallacies in opponents’ arguments: For about 2,500 years, educated people were taught the rules of rhetoric and understood how to identify opponents’ fallacies. If you don’t know the strawman, red herring, slippery slope, begging the question, and post hoc fallacies, read about them on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Five Myths of Political Persuasion: Wednesday, April 20 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. Here are three myths: (1) Persuasion changes people’s minds. (2) Facts change people’s minds. (3) We pass new laws by changing people’s minds. How can these be myths? Join our next webinar for a challenging but rewarding discussion about politics in the real world.

CNN story highlights PLI’s Playbook for Abortion Rights: ”Aimee Arrambide…a co-editor of this resource…a lawyer by training, the Austin, Texas-based mother of two is a reproductive rights policy specialist [at PLI] and a self-professed policy wonk. She shares this playbook with pride; it was a labor of love that she and her colleagues saw as long overdue,” reported CNN.

States and localities can use libraries to help the homeless: In many jurisdictions, homeless people flock to public libraries for safety and warmth. As a Pew Trusts story explains, some governments use libraries as a place to reach out to the homeless and provide them with services.

Progress in the States and Localities Report: This week’s update highlights more than 50 important progressive bills that have passed at least one legislative house so far in 2016. The progressive victories in our Progress in the States and Localities Report address a wide range of policies from civil rights and consumer protection to public safety and election reform.


Download Books