Focusing on Principles, Fair Debt, Repro Rights Report and More

Fair Debt Buying Practices Act: Over the past seven years, the debt buying industry has greatly expanded, using lax documentation requirements to collect from the wrong consumer or for a debt that is no longer owed. California enacted a series of legal protections in 2013. This model Fair Debt Buying Practices Act was written by the Berkeley Law Policy Advocacy Clinic, based on that law.

Winning the Battle between Conservative and Progressive Principles: Most Americans are progressive on most issues, but simultaneously, polls show that most also agree with conservative principles. How do we get Americans to focus on our principles instead of theirs? Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to Talk about Economic Fairness and Prosperity: Wednesday, February 24 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. This year, every progressive leader and activist needs to be able to deliver a forceful economic narrative. Bernie Sanders obviously knows how to do that, but do you? Richard Kirsch of the Roosevelt Institute has been working on this messaging for years and will provide practical, well-researched advice. Register here.

An America that works for all of us: The Progressive Economic Narrative (PEN) has been developed by a team of experts over several years. For a one-page preview of Richard Kirsch’s webinar, click here. For more about the PEN, click here.

Repro Rights Report: Our new Repro Rights Report focuses on proactive pro-choice bills in states and localities. Right now there are at least 37 proactive bills to expand abortion access, restrict crisis pregnancy centers, promote evidence-based medicine, attack TRAP laws, and provide more options for contraception. Ten other bills would repeal abortion restrictions.

A Playbook for Abortion Rights: With 27 model bills and 2 model resolutions, our new Playbook for Abortion Rights is a unique resource for state and local policymakers. Click here to read a summary of the bills or to download the whole book.


Download Books