Honeybees, Earned Media, Stun Cuffs and More

Pollinator Protection Act: An ongoing, serious die-off of honeybees is threatening many of the crops that make up our food supply. We can do something about it. Studies confirm that neonicotinoid pesticides contribute to killing the bees. The Pollinator Protection Act is based on a bill which recently passed the Maryland Senate.

Second Amendment mess demonstrates why we need an honest Supreme Court: Last week the Supreme Court issued an embarrassing decision about the Second Amendment. The ruling was the result of Justice Scalia’s 64-page mess of an opinion from 2008. That decision, District of Columbia v. Heller, was a “prototypical misuse of judicial power to advance an ideological agenda.” Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to Earn Media Coverage Around Your Progressive Ideas: Wednesday, April 6 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. How do you get earned media in order to build momentum for your progressive ideas? Join this webinar to learn a mix of old school and new school techniques to get people talking about your policy solutions.

 

PLI cited in South Dakota controversy about stun cuffs: The Argus Leader (A USA Today newspaper) cited PLI model legislation and quoted Policy Director Bernie Horn in a story about the use of stun cuffs by county sheriffs. Our model bill would ban their use.

Nearly three dozen election reform victories in the states: Since the last midterm election, state legislatures have passed a surprising amount of progressive legislation to make registration and voting easier. The Fair Elections Legal Network provides a concise report here.

Progress in the States and Localities Report: Our report highlights more than 30 important progressive bills that have passed at least one legislative house so far in 2016. The progressive victories in our Progress in the States and Localities Report address a wide range of policies from civil rights and consumer protection to public safety and election reform.


Download Books