Immigration Status, "Free" Markets, Healthy Food and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Don’t Ask Immigration Status Act: Conservatives are stumbling badly on the issue of immigration. Let’s help them stumble some more. The Don’t Ask Immigration Status Act says local government agents won’t ask unless required by federal law. Two reasons: (1) we are all safer if immigrants are comfortable reporting violations of the law to government authorities; and (2) immigration is the federal government’s business and only one side stands in the way of immigration reform.

There’s no such thing as “free” markets: American markets are not, and never were free of government influence. The idea of “free” markets is a myth. Why do we progressives perpetuate it? Read about this policy and messaging problem on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Healthy food solutions for states and localities: Wednesday, March 11 @3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. Guests from the Union of Concerned Scientists will explain what states and localities can do to improve your communities’ access to healthy and affordable food. Register here to participate.

New Podcast! The Science of Persuasion: This is the first in a series intended to allow you to get an entire messaging presentation in just 20 minutes. Want to know why people just don’t listen to facts? Why they’re so stubborn about politics? Watch this YouTube video.

Past editions of the PLI Leadership Bulletin: Today marks the two-year anniversary of the Leadership Bulletin. You can skim back copies and find a wealth of policy resources specifically for state and local lawmakers by clicking here.

Compendium of State and Local Legislation: What has happened in the states, cities, counties and towns in January and February? Read about it in our Compendium. And we welcome input! If you have additions, please contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.