Indiana Discrimination, Values 101, Paid Leave and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

LGBT Fairness Act: This is the antidote to Indiana and other “Religious Freedom” laws. Progressives should be on the offensive, pushing anti-discrimination laws like this in every state and locality where it’s not already law. And it’s good politics: Americans in every state favor an employment non-discrimination law.

The Indiana law promoting discrimination is a new low: Last week, Indiana enacted into law the so-called “Religious Freedom Restoration Act.” Now proponents are complaining that the law isn’t much different from 20 others. But, unfortunately, it is. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Progressive Values 101: Wednesday, April 8 @3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. We progressives know what we stand for. The problem is, we don’t have an effective framework to communicate our philosophy to persuadable Americans. Join this webinar to discuss one effective way to persuade—by assuring our fellow citizens that we share their values.

Americans strongly support a climate change treaty: A recent poll shows that, by a margin of 3 to 1, Americans favor an international agreement committing all countries to address climate change by reducing their carbon emissions. Another question in the same poll shows that the issue could hurt right wingers in 2016.

Paid leave is hot: When he included a call for paid sick leave in his State of the Union message, President Obama kicked off a nationwide effort to push the issue at the state and local levels. Read this recent column about the “Lead on Leave” campaign. This Lake Research poll shows the issue is very popular.

What’s happened at the state and local levels so far? Read about it in our Compendium. And we welcome input! If you have additions, please contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.