Job Piracy, Populist Platform, the Supreme Court and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group organized to raise public awareness on key issues and to develop public leaders who will improve the economic and social conditions of all Americans. To join, click here.

Job Piracy Cease Fire Act: Neighboring jurisdictions are continuously trying to steal jobs from one another by bribing employers to move. This is a horrible use of taxpayer funds and unfairly tilts the economic playing field to favor some companies over others. The Act prohibits a jurisdiction from offering subsidies to companies from jurisdictions that have enacted their own Job Piracy Cease Fire Act.

A Populist Platform for 2016: Want a policy platform to suggest to a lawmaker, candidate or advocacy organization? A simple one-page statement reflects American values and includes economic policies that are all wildly popular. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How a new Supreme Court case impacts the abortion rights debate: Thursday, December 3 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. The U.S. Supreme Court will hear a challenge to Texas’ strict anti-abortion law and that case will have a major impact on abortion legislation everywhere. It could also affect the 2016 presidential and congressional elections. David Brown, an attorney working on this case for the Center for Reproductive Rights, will explain the case, its timeline, messaging, and will take all your questions. Register for the webinar here.

Podcasts from SSN: The Scholars Strategy Network has just launched its podcast, No Jargon. You can find it on iTunesStitcher, or wherever you get your podcasts. For example, check out Episode 6: Planned Parenthood, Abortion, and Birth Control.

Party affiliation determines position on Syrian refugees: There is huge split between Democrats (63% yes) and Republicans (68% no) on the question of allowing Syrian refugees into the United States. PollingReport provides the topline on this and related questions.

Latest Compendium of State and Local Legislation in 2015: What’s happened so far in 2015? Read about it in our Compendium. If you have additions to suggest, please contact mweiss@publicleadershipinstitute.org.