Job Piracy, Reproductive Rights, Winning State Elections and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Job Piracy Cease Fire Act: This legislation is designed to stop the expensive and wasteful race to the bottom where neighboring jurisdictions compete to steal jobs from one another. Invite cities, counties and states to voluntarily stop the madness by enacting this simple bill.

A Golden Opportunity to Strengthen the Progressive Brand: While “progressive” is the nation’s most popular political term, most Americans don’t really know what it means. If we play our cards right, the presidential primary season will help us define our ideology. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

What’s going on in Reproductive Rights and how you can join the fight: Wednesday, April 22 @3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. States have adopted more than 230 new abortion restrictions since the 2010 election. Our guest, Susan Frietsche of the Women’s Law Project, will explain what’s going on and—using Pennsylvania as an example—how reproductive rights advocates can change the debate with a proactive policy agenda.

Where do conservatives get their version of reality? Surely you’ve noticed that conservatives are denying more than science, they won’t even recognize basic facts. This Pew Research poll shows how that happens: conservatives are overwhelmingly getting their “news” from Fox and other ideological sources.

Latest update on legislation at the state and local levels: Read about it in our Compendium. And we welcome input! If you have additions, please contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.