Juvenile Justice Reform, Explaining 2016 Elections, Rules of Direct Mail and More

Juvenile Justice Reform Act: This model bill combines three urgent reforms. First, it restricts the use of pretrial confinement to young offenders who actually pose a danger to society or where this is a realistic chance they may flee from justice. Second, it allows judges to transfer defendants from juvenile to adult courts only upon consideration of specific, limited criteria. Third, it protects accused children by ensuring that they do not waive their constitutional right to counsel.

Group identification, rather than policy, explains the 2016 elections: Was Trump successful because voters support his “policies”? No, was a function of group identification. Americans are usually not searching for a candidate who agrees with their issue positions, they’re looking for someone who represents their group. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Top ten rules of direct mail: Wednesday, June 29 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. For most electoral and policy campaigns, direct mail is the most effective way to broadcast themes and educate voters. This webinar will explain how to improve the mechanics, message and design of your direct mail. Register here.

State programs to rein in prescription drug costs: The National Academy for State Health Policy published a new policy brief describing what states have been doing over the past several years to control the rising cost of prescription drugs.

Are your high-stakes K-12 standardized tests comparing apples and oranges? It was very recently disclosed that different District of Columbia middle and high schools are taking entirely different versions of the Common Core math test with the school system averaging the scores together, something completely unknown to the public. Maybe you should check your school system.

PLI’s State Strategy Forum, July 8-10 in Washington, DC: The Public Leadership Institute is holding a national conference for state legislators on July 8-10 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We’ll be focusing on abortion rights, public education, economic justice and skills-building. There are just a few seats remaining! To register or learn more, click here.


Download Books