LGBT Fairness, Minimum Wage, Confederate Symbols and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

LGBT Fairness Act: Even though same-sex marriage is now the law of the land, in most of the U.S. it is still legal to discriminate against LGBT people. Both states and localities should enact the LGBT Fairness Act to prohibit discrimination in employment and housing.

This year’s top progressive victories in states and localities: While conservatives have had a very successful year in state legislatures, let’s focus on progressive victories and what we can learn from them. Read about the top progressive state and local victories of 2015 on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Effective Messaging for Minimum Wage Campaigns: Thursday, July 16 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, noon Pacific. The National Employment Law Project is sponsoring a webinar featuring two of the nation’s top messaging strategists, Richard Kirsch of the Roosevelt Institute and Margy Waller of Topos Partnership. Register here.

What has happened in reproductive rights this year? The Guttmacher Institute regularly updates this list of Major Developments in 2015. It’s also a great place to get fact sheets about abortion, contraception and more.

Time to reconsider Confederate symbols in your own jurisdiction: Many states still allow the Confederate flag on license plates. Many places, not just in the South, have monuments to Confederate soldiers. Many schools and streets are named for Confederate, and even KKK, leaders. Isn’t it time to begin a conversation about whether it is appropriate for any U.S. government to symbolically honor them?

Going to the National Conference of State Legislatures, August 3-6 in Seattle? The Public Leadership Institute will passing out copies of the Progressive Agenda and Voicing Our Values in the Exhibition Hall, booth 1205. Come visit with us!