License Plate Reader, Shock Poll, Tax Policies and more


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Limit license plate reader databases: All over the nation, police agencies are using license plate readers which tell them exactly which vehicle was in a certain location at a certain date and time. While there are some uses to the data, police are currently storing millions of records about the cars of innocent Americans. The model License Plate Privacy Act, based on a newly-enacted law in Tennessee, limits the amount of time government agencies can hold on to those records.

Understand the anti-teacher narratives: If you listen to the advocates for increased standardized testing and decreased rights for teachers, you will hear a series of narratives or stories that underlie all their arguments. Read about narratives, and how to rebut them, on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Shock poll—government regulation has become a political winner: Wednesday, October 8 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, noon Pacific. There is brand-new eye-opening polling data from Celinda Lake which shows that Americans overwhelmingly favor government regulation, especially when it’s described in a populist way. Register here to join this surprising discussion.

Voters are exasperatingly uninformed: It is not just your imagination. A new Annenberg poll finds that only about 1/3rd of Americans know who controls the U.S. House or Senate, only about 1/3rd can name all three branches of government, and about 1/3rd can’t even name one branch.

New report on four key tax policies in the states: The Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy has a brand-new 34-page report describing and discussing four key tax policies.

Victories and defeats in 2014: This up-to-date resource provides ideas for progressive legislation and warns you of right-wing campaigns: The Compendium of State and Local Legislation.