Machine Guns, Racial Profiling, Tipped Workers and more

Bulletin_Banner.jpg


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Model_Legislation.jpg

Ban children from firing machine guns: As you know, 9-year-old girl at a gun range accidentally killed a man with a full-auto Uzi. You can stop that. After a similar accident in 2008, Connecticut enacted SB 358 which bans children under 16 from firing machine guns. In fact, CA, DE, HI, NY, WA and DC ban the possession of machine guns entirely.

Progressive Values 101: Progressives have a fairly consistent agenda–we know what we stand for. The problem is, we don’t have an effective framework to communicate our philosophy to persuadable voters. But there is a way to persuade—by assuring voters that we share their values. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Raise the minimum wage for tipped workers: Wednesday, September 10 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, noon Pacific. States and cities are raising the minimum wage across the country, but tipped workers—like waiters—are not getting a fair share. Register here for a special discussion with Saru Jayaraman, the dynamic co-founder of the RestaurantOpportunitiesCenter.

Top Ten Rules of Direct Mail: Are you creating the best persuasion mail possible? Here is an abbreviated written version of our workshop on the mechanics, messaging and design of direct mail.

Prohibit racial profiling: In the wake of Ferguson, what could be more timely? Both states and localities should prevent police from treating people differently because of their race or ethnicity. ALICE has model legislation and resources to help you address racial profiling—and 1,500 other model and exemplary bills for both state and local policymakers.

Compendium of victories and defeats in 2014: Progressives have won dozens of major victories so far this year. Read here about recent legislative victories and defeats.