Fracking, Progressive Economics, Unemployment Insurance, and more


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Fracking disclosure: Hydraulic fracturing pumps dangerous chemicals, including known carcinogens, into the earth. Some of that gets into our waterways and contaminates our groundwater. Here are exemplary bills and resource materials to require disclosure of the chemicals used. Had a good or bad experience using alicelaw.org? Let ALICE know: alice@alicelaw.org.

Is there a Progressive Economics? Conservative economics is designed to rig the system to further enrich the already-wealthy. Progressive economics focuses on the middle class over the rich, sure. But that’s not enough to win the argument. Let’s advocate for a progressive “fair market” economics. Learn more about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Practical message framing for state and local campaigns: Officeholders, candidates and campaign managers will discuss how to craft a campaign theme and use issues to support that theme. We’ll answer questions like: Do voters even understand issues? What’s the messaging difference between a primary and a general? Should you go negative? This webinar is Wednesday, March 19 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific.

Unemployment Insurance: Our friends at the National Employment Law Project (NELP) recently published a report surveying state Unemployment Insurance systems. Sadly, most deserve a failing grade.

State-by-state map of fiscal planning: The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities has published an online interactive map that compares the way different states plan their budgets and links to detailed information about each state.

2014 state and local legislation so far: Maybe it’s too early to draw conclusions, but the right wing is winning a sickening number of battles. Read about it here.