Fundraising Tips, Education Messaging, E-cigarettes and more


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Model Legislation from ALICE

Municipal-level wage hikes: Seattle is trying to increase its minimum wage to $15/hour! Most localities are not empowered to raise the minimum wage but almost all can create a minimum wage for the workers of government-paid and contracted employees. This is called a Living Wage and there are great models available on ALICE.

Nine Tips for Fundraising: We all have to do fundraising from time-to-time. But do we do our best? This one-pager tells you everything you need to know in just nine short paragraphs! Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Webinar of the Week

How to talk about K-12 Education: Public education is under attack from conservatives who are, essentially, promoting a corporate takeover of public schools. To push back, we need to understand where voters agree with progressives, and use these points of agreement to fight privatization, school closings, narrowing of curriculum, and the misuse of standardized tests. Join us for this webinar Wednesday, May 21 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific.

Resources You Can Use

How to talk about our Progressive Values: When conservatives roll out their values of small government, low taxes, free markets, strong defense and traditional families, how do progressives answer? With our Progressive Values! Click here to read about values and which ones to employ in various situations.

The hottest state/local topic in America? E-cigarettes: Nearly three dozen states and 150 localities have recently passed legislation to ban the sale of e-cigarettes to minors or expand smoke-free laws to cover e-cigarettes. Read about it here.

From the Public Leadership Institute

What is happening in states and localities right now? Read our Compendium of State and Local Legislation to find out the latest.