Neo-Cons, Fast Track, Contingency Fees and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Prohibit Contingency Fees for Economic Development Act: State and local governments spend millions of dollars on economic development subsidies. California SB 434 (enacted 2014) prohibits the practice of lobbyists receiving a percentage of an economic development grant as compensation for their work. This is a simplified model bill that accomplishes the same thing.

Neo-Cons are wrong about “freedom” and “security”: Recently, some war hawks have defended the invasion of Iraq as a necessity of national “security” while others promoted the war as a defense of “freedom.” Read why it’s dangerous to let them use this language unchallenged on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Fast track authority for the Trans-Pacific Partnership is wrong: Tuesday, June 2 @1:00pm Eastern, noon Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific. Campaign for America’s Future Director Bob Borosage, Congressman Mark Pocan (D-WI) and others will explain why Congress should reject “fast track authority” for the TPP which will be on the House floor next week. Register for the webinar here.

Against fast track authority for the TPP: As Senator Elizabeth Warren explains here, the Trans-Pacific Partnership includes an “Investor-State Dispute Settlement” (ISDS) provision that would allow foreign companies to challenge U.S. law—including state and local laws—in special tribunals that are not part of the U.S. system of courts.

Progressive municipal officials: Join Local Progress! There is a terrific organization—Local Progress—which is exclusively for city and town elected officials. It’s a great place to get policy information and network with like-minded municipal leaders. Sign up here!

Latest Compendium of State and Local Legislation in 2015: What’s happened so far in 2015? Read about it in our Compendium. If you have additions to suggest, please contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org