Pharmaceutical Transparency, Hate Speech, Lead-In-Water Tests and More

Pharmaceutical Cost Transparency Act: Last week, Vermont became the first state to enact a Pharmaceutical Cost Transparency Act, requiring drug companies to justify the most egregious Rx price increases. Under the new law, companies must disclose which of the most frequently prescribed drugs have the greatest price increases and the state attorney general is directed to determine the reasons for those increases, ultimately making the information public.

American Culture Is Threatened by Hate Speech: Right now, progressives need to speak out against hate speech and bigotry before it becomes mainstream—the new normal. If we fail to stem the tide of prejudice, our national culture will change and candidates for every office will pander to nativism and white supremacy. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Get your ideas on the agenda and build support for your policy solutions: Wednesday, June 15 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. In this interactive session, learn how to build political support to move your ideas forward. This webinar will combine messaging and strategy to get your ideas on the agenda. We will explore no cost and low cost ways to build awareness of your solutions, activate the public, and build support for your policy ideas. Register here.

Cities and states have been cheating on lead-in-water tests: At least 33 cities and two states have used testing methods that hide dangerous levels of lead in drinking water, according to an investigation by The Guardian. Boston, Philadelphia, Buffalo, Chicago, Columbus and Milwaukee are among the cities that have employed some of the improper testing methods used in Flint, Michigan.

IRS proposes limits on tax-free municipal bonds: Wonky but important—the IRS has proposed regulations to crack down on the use of tax-free bonds to benefit private economic development. The proposed rules would require the bond issuer to both have a governmental, not private, purpose and to be under government control.

PLI’s State Strategy Forum, July 8-10 in Washington, DC: The Public Leadership Institute is holding a national conference for state legislators on July 8-10 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We’ll be focusing on abortion rights, public education, economic justice and skills-building. To register or learn more, click here.


Download Books