Science of Persuasion, Gunpalooza, Improving Elections and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Prepaid Card Consumer Protection Act: The Great Recession of 2007-09 reminded Americans that our financial system is unfair. Right now, you can’t lose with voters by picking a fight with banks. One option is to prohibit unfair restrictions in “gift” cards. Here’s a model bill.

The Science of Persuasion—Part Two: Our last column explained the science behind political stubbornness. Essentially, our brains are hard-wired to engage in “confirmation bias.” Further, our opponents get a blast of dopamine and feel pleasure after they rebut our arguments—even when that rebuttal is based on irrationality and falsehood. This column provides five rules to help you restructure your arguments to make them more effective. Read it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Gunpalooza! How to talk about gun policy, and much more: Wednesday, February 25 @3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. This will encompass much more than messaging. We will discuss the facts, survey research, strategies and constitutional arguments behind efforts to curtail gun violence. Register here to participate.

What cities, counties and towns can do to improve elections and voting: The Fair Elections Legal Network published a toolkit to help solve some of the biggest problems in election administration as well as promote a more voter friendly environment. It includes innovations in voter registration, poll worker recruitment and training, voter education, and various other administrative practices designed to boost overall voter participation. See Local Initiatives Designed to Improve the Voting Experience.

ALICE library of model bills is at SiX: In case you haven’t heard, the full ALICE library of 2,500 model bills and other policy resources has moved to the State Innovation Exchange (SiX).

Order printed copies of the Progressive Agenda: The 2015 Progressive Agenda is ready for distribution. You can download a PDF copy here. If you are willing, we will send you printed copies to distribute to your colleagues. Order here or contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.