Pregnant Workers, Development Subsidies, Military Equipment and more


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Pregnant Workers Fairness Act: This legislation requires that workers who are pregnant or recently gave birth must receive reasonable accommodations to stay on the job. It’s a hot topic—such legislation was recently enacted in DE, IL, MD, MN, NJ, WV as well as New York City, Philadelphia, and Providence, RI. PLI offers model legislation for states and localities. The National Women’s Law Center provides resources to help you gain support for the Act. Why not pass it in your own jurisdiction?

Is Obamacare now helping progressives? Pundits have spent years claiming that Obamacare is a political albatross, while more recently many have suggested it won’t make much difference. Aren’t they all wrong? In an election decided by turnout, those denied insurance via Medicaid expansion have a powerful reason to vote. Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Make economic development subsidies more accountable and effective: Wednesday, September 24 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, noon Pacific. States and localities spend billions on corporate giveaways, often receiving little of value in return. Please join our special guest Greg LeRoy, the Executive Director of Good Jobs First, to find out what you can do about wasteful subsidies in your own state, city or county.

Should your police have military equipment? More than 8,000 local police forces, including at least 117 college agencies, have received military equipment from the federal government like machine guns, grenade launchers, night scopes and armored vehicles. Here are a few ideas about what you can do about it.

Great policy guide on voting issues: Fair Vote has created a new resource that provides one-page policy briefs and model legislation covering a wide range of state and local policies. Click here to see how you can expand access to voting and improve the democratic process.

Victories and defeats in 2014: This up-to-date resource provides ideas for progressive legislation and warns you of right-wing campaigns: The Compendium of State and Local Legislation.