Privacy, the Media and Surprising polls


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Requiring a warrant to track cellphone locations: This year several states (CO, IN, MD, MN, TN, UT, VA, WI) enacted laws requiring police to get a warrant before obtaining cellphone tracking information. The Minnesota law is a good model and it’s available on ALICE.

It’s the media, stupid: The 2014 election has been a shameful, ignorant affair. Americans are choosing candidates based on obsolete stereotypes, phony memes, and absurdly untruthful campaign ads. Why does the mainstream media tend to repeat all the lies? Read IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Post-election analysis: Thursday, November 6 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, noon Pacific. National progressive leaders Bob Borosage and Bill Scher, hosted by our own Gloria Totten, will discuss what happened in the 2014 election and why. Register here to participate.

Poll: Liberals really do care more about other people: A Pew Research poll demonstrates that liberals value empathy, tolerance, curiosity and creativity while conservatives value obedience and religious faith. This echoes a part of George Lakoff’s Moral Politics.

Americans are a bit to the left of President Obama: Only 40% of Americans think the President is “too liberal.” Another 40% say he’s “just about right” while 17% believe Obama is “not liberal enough,” according to a new CNN poll (see question 4). When Obama appears to have a negative approval rating, it’s because of disapproval from the left!

Victories and defeats so far in 2014: Our Compendium of State and Local Legislation provides ideas for progressive legislation and warns you of right-wing policy campaigns.