Solitary Confinement, Gun Violence, Job Creation and More

Juvenile Justice Stop Solitary Confinement Act: President Obama recently announced a ban on solitary confinement for juvenile offenders, but it only applies to the federal prison system. Here is a model bill to do the same thing in states, based upon the ACLU’s excellent briefing paper and model Juvenile Justice Stop Solitary Act.

How to talk about abortion rights—and why: The majority of Americans side with abortion rights supporters or opponents depending on the way the question is asked. There are a variety of ways for us to frame the question so that persuadable Americans will take our side. Read about them on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

What do the New Hampshire primary results mean for the progressive movement? Wednesday, February 10 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. When Bernie Sanders announced his candidacy, he was universally dismissed as irrelevant. But he's shocked the pundits, electrified young voters, and set new records for small donations. Is there new energy for our policies at all levels of government? Where will this end? Our guest speaker is a national leader in the progressive movement, Bob Borosage, co-director of Campaign for America’s Future. Click here to register for this webinar

State Job Creation Strategies Often Off Base: The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities has published a new paper about job creation which persuasively argues that economic development policies that ignore the fundamental realities about job creation are bound to fail.

The National Caucus of Environmental Legislators provides great information on a wide variety of pro-environment topics. Visit the NCEL website for information about climate and energy, clean water, chemical policy, conservation, and much more.

A Playbook for Abortion Rights: With 27 model bills and 2 model resolutions, our new Playbook for Abortion Rights is a unique resource for state and local policymakers. Click here to read a summary of the bills or to download the whole book.


Download Books