State of the States, Wedge Issues, Environmental Justice, and More

 


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Environmental Justice Act: Racial and ethnic minorities often bear a disproportionate share of the health risks caused by pollution, solid waste landfills, hazardous waste facilities, and similar projects. The Environmental Justice Act establishes a commission to ensure that minorities and low-income citizens are not disproportionately subjected to environmental hazards.

State of the States and Localities: Due to the ghastly 2014 elections, more state legislators are Republican and the GOP controls more state legislative bodies than at any time since the 1920s. What are the challenges ahead and how do progressives deal with them? Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

TOMORROW—A Progressive Response to the State of the Union: Wednesday, January 21 @3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1:00pm Mountain, noon Pacific. Robert Borosage of the Campaign for America’s Future and PLI president Gloria Totten will look at President Obama’s State of the Union address through a progressive lens, offer strategies for winning the fights that are expected in the coming months, and take your questions. Register here to participate.

Five Wedge Issues for States and Localities: Wedge issues for 2015 fall into three categories: (1) addressing the way our economic system has been rigged to benefit the rich; (2) supporting important groups that conservatives target; and (3) promoting issues that drive conservative extremists to say crazy things. Here are five ideas for policy.

Help members and constituents sign up for Obamacare: The current enrollment open season for individual insurance plans ends on February 15, although there is never a deadline for Medicaid applicants. Enroll America has a series of resources, here.

Order printed copies of the Progressive Agenda: The 2015 Progressive Agenda is ready for distribution. You can download a PDF copy here. If you are willing, we will send you printed copies to distribute to your colleagues. Order here or contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.