Tax Fairness, Fair Markets, the Gun Lobby and More


The Public Leadership Institute is a nonprofit educational group that helps turn state and local elected officials, advocates and grassroots activists into progressive champions. To join, click here.

Tax Enforcement Fairness Act: Americans believe that rich individuals and big corporations do not pay their fair share of federal, state or local taxes. They overwhelmingly support fairer enforcement of tax law. This model would dedicate money for tax authorities to crack down on “major tax evasion.”

Promote “Fair Markets” not “Free Markets”: To say the words “free markets” is to perpetuate a dangerous right-wing myth and hurt the progressive cause. When we say “fair markets,” we remind voters of their firm belief that our economic system is rigged to favor the rich, and that governments should do something about it. Read about this on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to improve elections and voting at the local level: Tuesday, March 24 @3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. The Fair Elections Legal Network will report the status of local election reform efforts and describe a variety of tactics that localities can use to make registration and voting easier. Register here to participate.

Gun ownership is declining, so why is the gun lobby so powerful? In the 1970s, about half of American households had a gun. The General Social Survey recently reported that now 31 percent of households are armed, a record low. Read our Politiblog to learn about the decline in gun owning coupled with some alarming gun statistics that you’ve never seen before.

The National Journal reports “Americans Give Up On Washington”: Last week, National Journal published a poll that found Americans overwhelmingly “feel that the best solutions for the country’s problems will come from local communities, state governments, and institutions” rather than from the federal level.

Compendium of State and Local Legislation: What has happened in the states, cities, counties and towns so far this year? Read about it in our Compendium. And we welcome input! If you have additions, please contact Michael Weiss at leadership@publicleadershipinstitute.org.