Tobacco Tax, Government Enforcement, Zika Virus and More

Tobacco Tax Act: Despite cigarette tax increases in recent years, polls show that voters would gladly raise them higher in places like Idaho, Louisiana, Pennsylvania, California and essentially any other state. The Tobacco Tax Act not only provides millions of dollars for worthy state programs, it substantially decreases teen smoking which in time saves lives.

New poll illustrates confirmation bias; Trump less popular than lice: Among the 34 percent of voters who have a favorable opinion of Donald Trump, 65 percent believe President Obama is a Muslim, 59 percent think Obama was not born in the USA, and 24 percent say that Justice Scalia was murdered. Why do millions of Americans reside in a political fantasyland and how can we respond? Read about it on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Poll-tested method to rally the public for an activist government: Wednesday, May 18 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. We tend to assume that Americans hate government, but it isn’t true! If you move away from talking about government as an abstraction and explain how it can enforce fair rules on everyone, residents will strongly move to your side. Yes, with this practical and fairly simple approach—based on Lake Research Partners polling—they will even favor “regulation” and approve of specific regulatory agencies. Register for the webinar here.

Updated maps for the Zika virus in the states: The Centers for Disease Control published updated maps showing where the Zika virus could strike during the summer of 2016. The new maps show the mosquitoes that might carry the Zika virus will probably reach as far west as California and as far north as Minnesota, New York, and even New Hampshire and Vermont.

Progress in the States and Localities Report: Our latest highlights more than 50 important progressive bills that have passed at least one legislative house so far in 2016. The progressive victories in our Progress in the States and Localities Report address a wide range of policies from civil rights and consumer protection to public safety and election reform.

Repro Rights Report: Our new Repro Rights Report focuses on proactive pro-choice bills in states and localities. Right now there are at least 131 proactive bills to expand abortion access, restrict crisis pregnancy centers, promote evidence-based medicine, attack TRAP laws, and provide more options for contraception.


Download Books